Let Me Guess

Let me guess: you are going to eat a salad today, drink a few glasses of water, and go for a little jog? Hey- me too!  🙂

I don’t really do New Year resolutions. I more or less resolve in general to live my life to the fullest and best of my ability.

Jesus said, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.” (John 10:10)

My life was nothing before I came to believe in Jesus Christ. In short, I had given up on life at age 11; I seriously wished to die. My little eyes had seen a lot, my ears had heard a lot, and I hurt more than my little heart could handle. I wanted to end it all because I did not know how I could, at only 11 years old, ever deal with or get past that place. Who was this God that would let such cruelty happen to a little girl? He could not be real. He absolutely was not love. There was no such thing as love.

Thank God that no matter where I went, what I did, or what other people did to me, He was with me. I realized it was all the world around me changing and moving,  but God, he never moved, he never changed. He was the same God he had always claimed to be. People are perverts, and they had perverted even the holy image of God; they had ruined his reputation. They had spread rumors about Him just like they had spread rumors about me. They had laughed at Him, lied about Him, and deserted Him, just like they had done to me. At the end of the darkness stood Jesus, my Savior, with his arms open wide saying  “It’s me. I am here. I never stopped waiting for you. I never left you, you just couldn’t see me.” I took his hand and I have been walking with him ever since.

Sometimes I have walked in the mud, sometimes I have even splashed mud on the perfect image of Christ, but he never lets go of my hand. He forgives me; he washes me clean. When I trip and fall, when I bust my knees, he pulls me up and mends my brokenness. When I start to get close to the edge, he lets me wander, but he pulls me back to his side before I go over the edge. When I get tired, he squeezes my hand to let me know I am not alone, we are on this road together.

Today I rejoice in this: that Christ has made me new, and that he is not done working on me yet!

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. 2 Corinthians 5:17

For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

I pray that you find the truth and the light waiting for you at the end of the darkness, so that you may learn to walk in the light of God’s love- today and every day!

Leave a Reply

