Wandering Through Madrid

I have taken quite the hiatus from life lately, as life keeps changing around me and I cannot seem to keep up. Yes, it is true, I just returned from a short week in Madrid, Spain. A much needed escape as in the past few months I have taken a new job in a new city where I know no one and the temptation and the pressure it more than I care to bear most days. After the past four days in Spain I have come to realize even more how much I do not care for the “American dream” propaganda that has turned most adults in America into idiots. Work to live, do not live to work. The company I work for allows me to travel at times, and I surely do take advantage of it. I have been called selfish and spoiled for spending my free time traveling, but as St. Augustine once said, “The world is a book. Not to travel is to read only a page.” What a great tragedy that would be to have the greatest novel at your fingertips and only read a page. So I do not think myself selfish, for I long to see every corner of creation as carved out by my Maker’s hand and worship the splendor of His name, nor do I think myself spoiled, for I have worked hard to get where I am and I am resourceful with what has been given me. Yes, maybe I do tend to run away, for life is plainly tolerable here, but at least I seek to better myself as much as I can where ever I may roam.

I have been contemplating publishing some thoughts for the public, whether this blog or a new one. Many of my friends have encouraged me to do so, I am just not sure I am ready for that. My social life here is fighting extinction so selfishly I would not mind speaking to an audience every now and again, but I fear being inconsequential above all. I know I am just another person and my words are many among trillions. One day if I feel anointed to have been given the capacity to reach someone, I will share. I will keep my mind open because I truly believe to not share your life with others is one of the greatest wrong doings of our world today. For now I am beyond jet lagged even though I slept for 10 hours. My head feels the size of a watermelon and my nose feels inverted. Imagine that image! I am going to rent an old light-hearted film from the public library and relax tonight. I have training out of town for 2 days, and though the consensus says I will want to die during the course, I know I will enjoy the hotel with the hot tub and sauna afterwords. Well I think that is all for now. It is good to be back. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

