Hero

I haven’t been called a hero since fourth grade when I saved this kid that had collapsed from an asthma attack. Today I was called a hero twice. So nice to hear though I wasn’t as heroic as I was brave. Either way to was nice to be recognized. Too bad my supervisor was unaware of the full situation and I was reprimanded for being negligent when in reality no one was paying attention forcing me, the trainee, to intervene to prevent an accident- of course I was not thorough since it was urgent and not my responsibility in the first place. Oh the irony.

Hero is also on my mind because I jammed the old “Hero” by Mariah Carey last night and it has been stuck in my head all day. I do not really feel like a hero. I am not really a hero. And no Mariah, I don’t feel like there is a hero for me or  that there is a hero within me.  I am just realizing how much we, as people, do not encourage each other half as much as we should. My love language is not words of affirmation, but that does not mean that I don’t want or need to hear encouraging words. In fact, I am often the strong encouraging type, and rarely do people think that I need support since I seem so “strong”. On the contrary, my tank often runs on empty because I could go days without encouragement of any sort. Friends have even told me they don’t call often because they “know” I’m great or busy doing great things. False. Some days I crash and burn over the dumbest thing. One little incident can make me hide all day to ensure that if the world decided to notice it wouldn’t find me. I heard some girls calling each other foul names today, and it made me think how easily we tear apart when it is so much easier to mend a loose hem then to repair a fray. For now I am doing the mending myself, and I get by with a little help from my friends. But mainly the person who spoils me is me. Homemade dinner, movies, shopping, pedicures, candles and bubble baths- all me. For now…

And then a hero comes along with the strength to carry on, and you cast your fears aside, and you know you can survive. So when you feel like hope is gone, look inside you and be strong, and you will finally see the truth- that a hero lies in you. ~MC

These pictures are dedicated to the 33 Chilean miners. Their spirits and their faith have inspired me. Below are two quotes I heard on the news, not sure which one quoted what, but worth passing along. “Down there I met God and I met the devil. God won.” “There were 33 miners, but there were 34 present through it all [referring to God’s presence].”

The Ultimate Hero: Hebrews 12:2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Leave a Reply

