Would you dare to believe?

There are things you can’t see & all those things are happening to bring a better ending. Some day, some how, you’ll see.

Would you dare to believe you still have a reason to sing? The pain that you’ve been feeling can’t compare to the joy that’s coming.So hold on, you got to wait for the light. Press on, just fight the good fight because the pain you’ve been feeling, it’s just the dark before the morning.

~Josh Wilson

I graduated in May, lost my full-time job in July, and my summer part-time job ended with August. This summer has been one of the most sporadic, stressful yet unmoving times of my life. I spent the entire summer trying to move, trying to get a job, trying to do something, all to no avail. I would score interviews, second interviews, be in the final pick for the job, and lose out to the local. I wondered whether I should just pick up and move to an area and then try to get the job as a local or if I should take it all as a sign that I needed to be right where I was for the time being. Though the latter was the most prominent in all of my journeys, I refused to acknowledge it because I was so ready for an adventure somewhere other than in the place I had been living all my life. However today I would like to announce I just accepted a part-time position in my hometown. Why? Because it is in an industry I could see myself building a lifelong career, it will give me a great experience, allow me to travel for free, and eventually develop a full-time salary, plus I can transfer after six months.

In the past few months, I have seen God strip me down to nothing and yet bless me beyond my understanding. I have not been the most faithful, loving, trusting person of late, but I spent all my energy holding off those doubts and taking the pain and turning it into personal growth. My full-time job ended, so I had to rely on my part-time summer job… then I broke my finger and was restricted from working for 6 weeks. Luckily my part-time job worked me in a few hours a week doing random chores. I can brag that I survived for almost an entire month on $8 plus one tank of gas ($28). Honestly, that’s all. [Thank you to all the cute boys who took me out, too  bad it never developed into anything, haha.]  Once my hand was manageable, I was still only being scheduled 2 nights a week. Ironically people needed vacation, were no-show’s, sick, etc. so I was picked up several extra shifts. I went a few weeks with no job between now and then. Right now I am writing from a temp job I was placed at for a few days that turned into two weeks. This week is “Employee Appreciation” so I have received free food, ice cream, and paraphernalia every day- go figure! God has taken so much away from job to friends, but He continues to provide and show me that He will never leave me nor forsake me (Deut. 31:6; Heb. 13:5). Though I am still at home, I am grateful for a part-time job. I trust that God has a reason for making my skin a little thicker, my heart a little tougher, and my passions a little stronger. I still believe that He has a reason. There is always dark before the morning.

Leave a Reply

